The RaceLatest news

Adam Gosling & the crew of YES! joined by left Sir Keith Mills and Cloudy Bay Senior Brand Manager Maria Ines Pina. Photo: Paul Wyeth/

Prizegiving rounds off another epic record-breaking Round the Island Race in association with Cloudy Bay

Author: Peta Stuart-Hunt   Date: 13:33 Sunday 2 Jul 2017

Competitors from yesterday’s excellent Round the Island Race gathered at the Island Sailing Club in Cowes this morning to celebrate the culmination of another epic record-breaking race; the Prizegiving is always a professionally run affair with Sailing Secretary Chris Thomas expertly steering the numerous award presentations to conclusion within the hour!

This year the competitors, sponsors and supporters were joined by Sir Keith Mills, Chairman of the Royal Foundation, Founding Director of Land Rover Ben Ainslie Racing and winner of the Gold Roman Bowl in 2013 on his TP52 5 West, having graciously accepted the Club’s invitation to present the prizes on stage, alongside Cloudy Bay’s Senior Brand Manager, Maria Ines Pina and the Race PRO Mike Peskett.

Yesterday’s race highlights included the well-deserved record-breaking rounding in 2hrs 22mins 23secs by the MOD70 Concise 10 to secure Multihull Line Honours and Highland Fling’s Monohull Line Honours in 4hrs 19mins 44secs. Then YES! stormed round the 50nm course to win the highest accolade, the Gold Roman Bowl.  The race also hosted presenting sponsor Cloudy Bay Brand Ambassador Ben Fogle who was sailing on the Farr 52 Bob by Cloudy Bay which was 18th over the line after a great race that took them a presentable 6hrs 11mins 3secs.

Chairman of Race Management and ISC Sailing Flag Dave Atkinson summed up the race weekend saying, “I’m really running out of superlatives to describe this race but this year has got to be rated an absolute classic. At the end of the day we have had the highest rate of finishers we’ve seen for many years with around 95% of those boats entered completing the race within the time limit.”

Click here for results.

Trophies presented today included:

OBSERVER TROPHY & DECANTER  - First Monohull to finish     

                  MON888                  HIGHLAND FLING XI                  Irvine Laidlaw                                   


                  GBR4863R                  YES!                  Adam Gosling                                   


                  MON888                  HIGHLAND FLING XI                  Irvine Laidlaw

HELLY HANSEN TROPHY - First ISCRS boat to finish           

                  GBR745R                  FIVE STAR SAILING SCHOOL  John Horn

FAMILY TROPHY - First ISCRS family crewed boat             

                  IRL10050                  TOUCHE                    David Murray                 

RAYMARINE RIR YOUNG SAILOR TROPHY                          

                  GBR8418T                  ARUN ROCKALL                  MR MC ATTRILL                 

FAST40+ CLOUDY BAY TROPHY - First Fast 40+ on corrected time

                  GBR1851X                  INVICTUS                  Sir Keith Mills

TENACITY TROPHY - Last boat to finish within the time limit

                  ARANAH (Roly Simpson)